Apple

How to wipe all personal data and erase your iPhone and iPad

How to wipe all personal data and erase your iPhone

One would always think that why we need to erase data from our mobile devices? What are the situations that make us delete all the personal data from our mobile devices? Such questions are quite clear to understand as we might have thought about it as well. In this article, we have explained all such situations and the consequences that can be seen once you erase all the data from your iPhone and iPad.  We have covered an essential aspect of the process of erasing all personal data from the device by using the ‘backing up data’ as a medium.

How to erase your iPhone and iPad

Why is it essential to back up data before you start erasing the data from the iPhone and iPad? So, the answer is straightforward. You don’t want to cry upon your data that will be permanently lost once you perform resent without backing up the data. Therefore, we recommend our readers to take Backing Up Data as their prior function whenever they decide to

wipe out all personal data and erase the iPhone or iPad

As we know, modern devices sometimes behave in a way that creates bundles of questions in our minds. It is evident that software issues, bug issues, or malicious apps are such issues that can create conflict in your device. This is a specific situation, and there are a few more like this when we need to reset or erase the iPhone or iPad. Moreover, it is quite beneficial too. Sometimes resetting or wiping out all personal data and erasing your iPhone or iPad completely may solve the minor issue on your device.

There is another situation where you need to wipe out and erase all the personal data even if you will not need your iPhone or iPad in the future. You must wipe out all your data before selling to another person; it should be your most prior concern in terms of safeguarding your privacy.  Secondly, the new owner would appreciate your efforts since it will receive a completely new iPhone and you would be in a free zone where you don’t need to worry about the leakage of your data.

How to erase all your personal data in a few easy steps.

However, if you forget to take a backup of your data regardless of whatever method you are using to erase your iPhone and iPad, you cannot get it back. Therefore, it is an obligation to take a backup of your data. Why is it necessary to take a backup of the data? We think it is one of the simplest questions with a simple answer that one could imagine.  Your data could be anything. It could be your memories, photographs, videos, finance records, social media profiles, and you never want to lose those and never think that someone misuses your private information.

In this article, firstly, we will guide you on how to back up your iPhone or iPad as it is a priority whenever you decide to wipe out all the data. After that, we will help you to erase all your personal data in a few easy steps. So, let’s get started!

Note: If you are struggling with any minor issue on your device, do not quickly think of resetting to the factory. We recommend you to Restart your device and see if the issue is fixed or not.

How to back up your iPhone or iPad before wiping it

If you are using iCloud backup, then you don’t have to worry much. iCloud automatically perform a backup whenever your device is connected with Wi-Fi. However, if you do a manual backup, then you need to be sure that you have backed up your device data before erasing it. You need to be up to date with backing up your data. Follow the simples steps below to back up your iPhone and iPad before wiping/erasing data.

  • Ensure your iPhone/iPad is connected with Wi-Fi 
  • Make sure that battery is fully charged
  • Open Settings app on your device from the Home Screen
  • Next up, tap on the Apple ID Banner provided at the top.
  • Tap iCloud.
    Tap icloud
  • Tap iCloud Backupicloud backup
  • Tap the Switch to turn it on.
  • Next up, tap Back Up Now.

That’s all! Now, wait for a few minutes, let your iPhone backup all your personal data. Once the backup is completed, move to the next topic provided below!

How to erase wipe out all data from your iPhone or iPad

iOS devices remain hardware-encrypted until you use a passcode. It also suggests that making your data unreachable as simple as providing the encryption key. However, iOS will delete everything that kept on the device. The thing that you will get in return is a clean and fresh device that you can resell if you want or you can use it again after importing all your backed-up data. Follow the simple steps mentioned below to erase all data from your iPhone or iPad.

  • Launch Setting app on your iPhone or iPad from the Home Screen
  • Next, tap on General
  • Scroll down to the bottom and tap Reset
    Tap reset
  • Next up, tap on Erase All Content and Settings
  • Tap on Erase Now
    Erase all the data
  • Provide your Passcode when asked
  • You need to enter your Apple ID password in order to turn off Activate Lock and pull out your iPhone from Find my iPhone.

That’s it. Once you successfully erase all the data, you can start a new device. In addition to that, you can restore your data from different backup. You have another option too, that is you can sell your iPhone or iPad to someone without any privacy concerns.

We hope that this article will help you wipe out all personal data and erase the iPhone and iPad. If you have any queries regarding iOS and Android, you can reach out to us. All you need to do is mention your issue in the comment section below, and we will be back with the most natural solution. For more latest content, do visit Topmobiletech.com.

Related posts
Apple

How to Check Apple Pencil Battery level

Apple

How you can use Family Sharing along with Find My iPhone

Sign up for our Newsletter and
stay informed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *