Each iPhone device has preinstalled applications that can be managed to suit your requirements. These are applications that cannot be removed from your device. The Photos app is one such app that allows users to manage their photos and videos that have been downloaded or taken from the device’s camera.
Apple created this app for users to organize their videos and pictures from various timelines, making it easier to sort various life moments and memories with ease. Deleting these images and videos can get tricky if you are not an iPhone geek.
To make things easier for you, we have curated a guide that includes a step-by-step process for deleting Photo Album from an iPhone device. Those who have synced their iPhone with iTunes or iCloud may not be able to delete some of the photo albums. However, user-created albums can be easily deleted from the device.
Best Method to Delete Photo Album from iPhone
Follow the below steps to successfully delete desired images and videos from iPhone’s Photos app:
- Unlock the screen and open the Photos application on any of the iPhone devices. The app’s icon is like a color wheel.
- Locate the bar at the bottom where you will find the Albums option. Tap on the option to open the folder.
- Now, tap on the See All option that’s located on the right side of the screen, under the Albums heading.
- After this, locate the Edit button on the top right corner of the screen and tap on it.
- An icon with a red circle and a line on the top left will appear on the albums that can be deleted. You can scroll or toggle to locate the album you wish to delete.
- Upon finding the album you wish to delete, tap on the red icon.
- A menu would pop-up, asking for your permission to delete the album. By tapping on Delete Album your album will be deleted. However, the images inside the album will not be deleted. You can visit the Photo Library to locate the same photos.
NOTE: Third-party applications like WhatsApp and Twitter create photo albums in the Photos app of your iPhone whenever you allow access to the photo library. Just make sure that you accidentally don’t delete anything you have sent, captured, or downloaded from these apps.
To delete these third-party app albums, simply follow the steps we’ve mentioned previously.
Why Certain Albums Can’t be Deleted from an iPhone?
If your iPhone is synced with your iTunes or iCloud accounts, you won’t be able to delete certain photo albums from your device. Moreover, albums automatically created by the Photos app like Selfies and Screenshots can’t be deleted.
Anything else that you have created by tapping the “ + ” button at the top can be easily deleted following the steps we have mentioned above.
We hope this guide turned out to be helpful for you. iPhones can be complicated to use if you are new to them. Our step-by-step guide is curated for each iPhone user who doesn’t want to spend too much time troubleshooting the problem. Carefully following each step would prevent any chances of errors that you otherwise would’ve made following the hit & trial method.