While blocking someone from your contact list is easy, but it is equally irritating to get blocked. Especially when you have no clue whether or not you have been blocked. Thanks to the innovation that precedes the name Apple, it is easy to block someone in your contacts. A user can block calls and text messages from any contact on the list while allowing them to send voicemails. But, if you are on the other end of the line and eagerly want to know is your number blocked, there are ways to do it as well. Interested to know more, read below and find out how to know if someone has blocked your number on iPhone.
Ways to find out if someone has blocked your number on iPhone
There are many possible ways that you can use to identify if someone has blocked your number on their iPhone. In this post, we have shared these ways in detail. All you need to do is follow them and find out. When someone has blocked your number and they won’t get any notification. As soon as your number is blocked, the recipient knows nothing about your attempts.
Read More: Free ringtone apps for iPhones
So, let us discuss the most effective ways to find if someone has blocked your number on their iPhone:
Call block check:
The best way to find out whether you have been blocked or not by an iPhone user is to call. When you call, you will hear a single time ring or maybe no ring before getting the customized message that states that the person you are trying to call is not available.
Blocked users, however, can drop a voicemail to the recipients. This is only possible if the recipient has installed the voicemail set up in their iPhone.
If you can hear the rings as usual and then you are diverted to the voicemail, it means that you haven’t been blocked by the user.
If you are instantly directed to the voicemail box of an iPhone user this doesn’t necessarily mean that you have been blocked. This state can imply a number of things, including:
- The line is busy as the recipient is talking to someone else.
- There is low cell phone network coverage in the area
- The iPhone’ battery drained or is in reboot mode
- The iPhone may be in the Do Not Disturb mode.
- The user has set Favorites or just Contacts or a contacts group
- Manual selection to send your call to a mailbox.
So, next time when you call someone and the call goes to the voicemail, do not be very quick to assume they may have blocked you.
Read More: How to backup iPhone to computer
Text Message Check:
After call check, you can try sending a message or iMessage to the user to check if your phone number is blocked. If you have sent a message and there is no “Delivered” or “Read” message and the message appears blue, you might have been blocked, but, not necessarily.
The iPhone user might have played with its “Read” recipients setting. The user has a choice to disable the read receipts completely, partially or enable it to some specific contacts. The only way you can know about any such setting arrangements is by talking to the user in the first place.
Similarly, if you receive a delivered message while sending a message, you haven’t been blocked.
There are chances you may not be able to send a message despite several attempts or the message would turn green from blue. This happens for many reasons including:
- Poor data connectivity
- No cellular network
- Problem with iPhone
- iMessage is turned off
- The iPhone’ battery drained or is in reboot mode
There are endless reasons why your message does not land in the iMessage inbox of recipients which not necessarily means your number is blocked. For example, if your message color changed from blue to green, it means that there is some fault with the data connection and the phone is ending your message as a conventional message instead of an iMessage.
How to find out whether you are blocked by an iPhone user, accurately?
Things here sound very intimidating and while you are eager to know your blocked status on the recipient’s phone, the ambiguous interpretation of situations can make it more intolerable. So, without further ado, let’s just find out what happens when your number is blocked by an iPhone user?
It might sound a little disappointing, but honestly, there is no sure shot solution to find out if someone has blocked your number. The only way you can get a confirmed answer is by looking at the user’s blocked contact list. But, if you do not have access to the user’s blocked contacts list, the chances of which are high, there is an easy test that you can try out and find for yourself.
Read More: How to unlock sprint iPhone
Test for blocked numbers on iPhone:
All you need is a phone and another iPhone users. You must block your phone on their iPhone first and then try calling them sending a message or an iMessage. The chances are that you will either be sent to the voicemail or the message would be shown undelivered forever.
This will give you a clear idea, what exactly happens when your number is blocked by an iPhone user.
What to do if someone has blocked your number?
Some of the other possible ways to deal with a blocked number status include:
- Using *67 to hide your caller id while calling.
- Manually turning off caller Id through phone settings
- Ask favor from a friend to call the recipient on your behalf.
- Take another mode of communication like social media or email to connect with the recipient.
You must know that contacting someone continuously especially when they have taken measures to avoid it can be listed as a legal offense under harassment and stalking case. So, if you have been blocked, it is better to try once or twice or allow the person to get over with whatever is keeping them from unblocking you.
Read Next: How to Delete Images from iMessage on iOS